Constitution and Governance

Bataung boo Selale nation is governed by the South African constitution, indigenous law, as well as the laws of the Republic of South African. Our hybrid system allows deep community participation and wide accountability in how we administer our plans and funds.

The Bataung nation is made up of six Traditional Dikgoro (wards), each regulated by a hereditary Kgosana (Headman).

Duties of the Kgosana are many and varied. He must keep Kgosi’s office informed of births, marriages and deaths, and of pressing issues or specific problems in his community. He must resolve disputes ranging from the use of resources to family matters. Kgosana must also ensure development of the community i.e. community uplifting project.

Bataung Nation is represented by the Traditional Council consisting of 19 members, 7 of whom are elected by villagers, 5 of whom are appointed by the Kgosi, 6 DiKgosana and Kgosi. It is established in accordance to North West Traditional Leadership and Governance Act No 25 of 2005. The Traditional Council has the status and functions of a local authority, with committees responsible for portfolios such as youth, community development, health, and education.

Whenever important decisions affecting the entire community need to be made, Kgosi convenes Lekgotla (Traditional Council meeting) of the Bataung Nation. The highest decision body in the Nation is called Kgotha Kgothe. This is a general meeting of all Bataung that is held 6 times and whenever there is an important matter to debate.

As a traditionally governed entity, Bataung system of governance embraces a range of mechanisms for ensuring that people’s concerns, opinions, and ideas are an integral part of policymaking, and that there are sufficient checks and balances in place so that no branch of governance can act on its own.

With the introduction of elected village councillors, women are in positions of authority. And, although we rely on indigenous law and traditional forms of conflict resolution to mediate most conflicts at the local level, we are also subject to the laws and legal procedures of the South African state.

Structure of Council and Members

Over and above, Traditional council established a Non Profit Company, with its own professional board of directors, Bataung boo Selale Development Agency. The Bataung boo Selale Development Agency is an economic vehicle of the Village in areas of amongst others funding for infrastructure & social development, housing, water, energy, education, income sustainability etc.